Medical Updates for GPs Pain Management

Date: Thursday, 15 July 2021

Time: 7.00 – 8.30pm

Register: Online via Zoom

Cost: Free

Facilitated by: Ben Lewis, AHCL GP Liaison

Speakers & Topics:
Novel Interventions in Pain Management

Dr Vahid Mohabbati



This presentation will outline advanced interventional techniques in pain management with focus on radiofrequency ablation and neurostimulation.

Dr Mohabbati is a pain interventionist, specialist pain and palliative medicine physician. He trained primarily as an emergency physician before completing dual training in pain and palliative medicine. Dr Mohabbati is the Director of Sydney Pain Management Centre (SPMC) and Sydney Pain Research Centre (SPRC).  He is a Senior Clinical Lecturer at the University of Sydney and UNSW.


Back pain – A Neurosurgical Perspective

Dr Vanessa Perotti

BSc (Hons), MBBS (Syd Uni), MHL, FRACS (Neurosurgery)


This presentation will discuss initial management of back pain from a neurosurgical perspective with a focus on prevention over cure.  Common causes of back pain and leg pain, when to refer for better patient outcomes, prognosis and ongoing management will be discussed.


Dr Perotti is an Australian trained neurosurgeon specialising in Brain and Spine Surgery. Dr Perotti has a special interest in back pain, sciatica and degenerative spinal conditions as well as brain and spine tumours, peripheral nerve disorders, stroke, CSF circulation disorders such as hydrocephalus and Chiari Malformation. Dr Perotti consults at the Parkway San Clinic.


Spinal Pain – Clinical Diagnosis and Management 

Dr Alister Ramachandran



This presentation will outline the clinical diagnosis, approach and management of spinal pain.

Dr Alister Ramachandran is an Australian trained specialist in Anaesthesia and Pain Medicine. He has a special interest in Interventional Pain Medicine and has completed the World Institute of Pain certification (FIPP). He is the Director of Pain Medicine at Westmead Hospital and heads the multidisciplinary pain management team.


Click here to register.